Skip to content

Helm of the Heart

We are the ones we've been waiting for

The Lord of the Dance

The picture below demonstrates my drive towards doing yoga before I new what I was doing. In this case… mild intoxication drove me to a form of Natarajasana or Dancer’s Pose while out at a club. And no, I don’t know what happened to my pants.

The Sanskrit word yoga has the literal meaning of “yoke”, from a root yuj meaning to join, to unite, or to attach.

I am here in order to document and share the changes and revelations in my mind and body that have been occurring in rapid succession since I began dedicating myself to the practice of yoga. I am about to begin my teacher training, and I know that I will be flooded with new ideas, challenges and perhaps even a pearl or two of wisdom.

Yoga is not about an end point or a finish line. It is about balancing the body and mind and striving towards a greater awareness that moves far beyond the mundane. It’s also about twisting and stretching and laughing when you fall.

What is wonderful about yoga is that you see people and animals doing it naturally, without ever associating “yoga” with it as a construct. Our bodies were meant to move and bend; we are not ideally suited to sit at desks all day or drive in a rigid position.

Here I will post pictures of postures (asanas) as well and thoughts about the practice of yoga and meditation. I will also include music that inspires me as well as various accoutrements that I enjoy using. I also hope to share healthy and delicious recipes (food is a great passion of mine). In summation, this is a place of integration. A place to celebrate, analyze, observe, and laugh . There are endless ways of achieving this.

“Truth is One, Paths are Many.”

-Sri Swami Satchidananda

Love & Light

Amanda

