Skip to content

Helm of the Heart

We are the ones we've been waiting for

Tips for emerging yogis

I was asked about some inexpensive/time efficient ways to start practicing yoga. This post began as an incredibly long comment, but I figured there are more people interested in ways to start practiciting yoga without spending a ton of money.

Tara Stiles has a ton of free videos on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dRsC1YdXqOc

I really like her because she is very good at giving simple instructions and she has fun little sequences like “Morning Waking Up Yoga” and “Couch Yoga”. She is great for beginners because she doesn’t use sanskrit names, just simple easy to understand English. I know she has DVDs you can buy, but there is a wealth of them for free online 🙂

These videos are a great place to begin, but I highly recommend that you also take a class every once in a while. It is helpful to have a teacher to adjust your alignment, provide modifications, and to discover new poses. Also, I really love the energy of a class full of people and find that I tend to work a little harder/longer.

Furthermore, I find that I am easily distracted at home. One of my favorite things about yoga is having time to myself to spend in my mind and body. I know those moments are especially rare for many people, especially mothers with little ones! Perhaps find a yoga buddy and make a date out of it, that way you can carve out some time to not only spend on yourself, but to see a friend.

As for general tips for beginners, it is important to have a lot of compassion for your body. If you are in a class, don’t feel weird about taking a rest in child’s pose (see the above picture). I still do this ALL the time. Even after continual practice, I still have off days, but yoga is definitely not a competitive sport.

Essentially, the most important part of yoga is the breathing. I am amazed at what a difference it makes to be conscious of your breath for a few moments. This is a great resource for breathing techniques:

http://yogayak.com/all-videos/the-full-yogic-breath-with-retention/

“Yogayak” has a ton of other free yoga resources, too.

I hope this is helpful and please do not hesitate to comment or ask questions!

Tips for emerging yogis

Someone asked me about some inexpensive/time efficient ways to start practicing yoga. This post began as an incredibly long comment, but I figured there are more people interested in ways to start practicing yoga without spending a ton of money.

Tara Stiles has a ton of free videos on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/TaraStilesYoga

I really like her because she is very good at giving simple instructions and she has fun little sequences like “Morning Waking Up Yoga” and “Couch Yoga”. She is great for beginners because she doesn’t use Sanskrit names, just simple, easy to understand English. I know she has DVDs that you can buy, but there is a wealth of them for free online 🙂

These videos are a great place to begin, but I highly recommend that you also take a class every once in a while. It is helpful to have a teacher to adjust your alignment, provide modifications, and to discover new poses. Also, I really love the energy of a class full of people and find that I tend to work a little harder/longer.

Furthermore, I find that I am easily distracted at home. One of my favorite things about yoga is having time to myself to spend in my mind and body. I know those moments are especially rare for many people, especially mothers with little ones! Perhaps find a yoga buddy and make a date out of it, that way you can carve out some time to not only spend on yourself, but to see a friend.

As for general tips for beginners, it is important to have a lot of compassion for your body. If you are in a class, don’t feel weird about taking a rest in child’s pose (see the above picture). I still do this ALL the time. Even after continual practice, I still have off days, but yoga is definitely not a competitive sport.

Essentially, the most important part of yoga is the breathing. It amazes me what a difference it makes, being conscious of your breath for a few moments. This is a great resource for breathing techniques:

http://yogayak.com/all-videos/the-full-yogic-breath-with-retention/

“Yogayak” has a ton of other free yoga resources, too.

I hope this is helpful and please do not hesitate to comment or ask questions!

