Skip to content

Helm of the Heart

We are the ones we've been waiting for

Why dudes should do yoga.

Yoga is beneficial for everyone. I want to highlight a few reasons that guys should give yoga a whirl. I see many more ladies in yoga classes, and I think many men feel uncomfortable stepping outside of the comfort of the gym culture.

Personally, I’m not into that beefcake look where you can lift a ridiculous amount of weight but can’t touch opposite shoulders. Not only do I not find it attractive, but I believe that part of fitness is health and getting your body to do more for you with ease.

1. Yoga is a full-body workout.

Yoga opens and stretches virtually all parts of your body. A good class will build gradually, increasing in intensity, stretching and strengthening every part of your body. There are muscles I never knew I had before practicing yoga. So none of this over worked arms with chicken legs. BALANCE. And aesthetically speaking, balance and symmetry is desirable.

2. The girls

Okay so if you are not looking for girls, it’s still gravy. You will meet some lovely friends in the yoga community. But if you are looking for a special lady and you are interested in finding a woman who has some depth and respects her body, this is a good place to look. A better place to look for a fit and happy person in general (friend or otherwise) rather than a bar or somewhere where you dumb down your senses and there’s a lot of posturing and bullshit. Depends on what you are looking for!

3. Fun date

This is a potentially inexpensive (relatively speaking) date that would be fun and challenging. Also, a great way to have an experience together that you can talk about afterwards over a smoothie or coffee. Easy ice-breaker! Maybe pick a gentle class to start if you sweat a lot 😛

4. A great compliment to your routine

If you life weights, run, play sports, WHATEVER, this is a good companion. Yoga will increase your flexibility and prevent injuries. I’ve noticed that since I started practicing yoga, I heal faster and I don’t tweak my muscles or joints hardly ever. So add a class or two a week. Or watch some youtube videos and practice at home.

Why dudes should do yoga.

Yoga is beneficial for everyone. I want to highlight a few reasons why guys should give yoga a whirl. I see waaaay more ladies than men in yoga classes, and I think this is because men feel uncomfortable stepping outside of the comfort of gym culture.

Personally, I’m not into that beefcake look where you can lift a ridiculous amount of weight but can’t touch opposite shoulders. Not only do I not find it attractive, but I believe that part of fitness is health and getting your body to do more for you with ease.

1. Yoga is a full-body workout.

Yoga opens and stretches virtually all parts of your body. A good class will build gradually, increasing in intensity, stretching and strengthening every part of your body. There are muscles I never knew I had before practicing yoga. So none of this over worked arms with chicken legs. BALANCE. And aesthetically speaking, balance and symmetry is desirable.

2. The girls/boys

Okay so if you are not looking for a girlfriend or boyfriend, it’s still gravy. You will meet some lovely friends in the yoga community. But if you are looking for a special lady or fellow and you are interested in finding a person who has some depth and respects their body, this is a good place to look. Yoga studios are great places to look for a fit and happy people in general, (friend or otherwise) rather than a bar or somewhere where you dumb down your senses and there’s a lot of posturing and bullshit. Depends on what you are looking for!

3. Fun date

This is a potentially inexpensive (relatively speaking) date that would be fun and challenging. Also, a great way to share an experience that you can talk about afterwards over a smoothie or coffee. Easy ice-breaker! Maybe pick a gentle class to start if you sweat a lot 😛

4. A great compliment to your routine

If you life weights, run, play sports, WHATEVER, this is a good companion. Yoga will increase your flexibility and prevent injuries. I’ve noticed that since I started practicing yoga, I heal faster and I don’t tweak my muscles or joints hardly ever. So add a class or two a week.

If you are nervous about trying yoga for the first time, watch some youtube videos and practice at home before going to a class so that you have an idea about what to expect. Any good yoga class will honor you wherever you are on your own unique path, so don’t be shy. Just tell the teacher that you are new to yoga before the class, and make them aware of any injuries you have, old or new. Most importantly, have fun!

