Skip to content

Helm of the Heart

We are the ones we've been waiting for

“As above, so below.”

I am now two weekends into my yoga teacher training and I am LOVING it. I have also been extremely busy. This past weekend we working on teaching each other Surya Namaskar A & B (Sun Salutations) and then we went through a ton of standing poses. We’ve also been reading the Bhagavad Gita which I am loving. 

“As the blazing fire reduces wood to ashes, similarly, the fire of Self-knowledge reduces all Karma to ashes.”

We need to encouraged self-discovery and awareness more. I don’t just mean having opinions. We all seem to have plenty of those, and often we don’t really understand the root of our belief systems. I mean really, truly examining what is important to you. Where you shine and where you feel vulnerable.

The people who you love to surround yourself with have beautiful qualities that you can find in yourself. The people who bother you or get under your skin are also mirroring you. They reflect the things that plague you, that parts of you that you try to repress or deny,

Sometimes, just acknowledging something allows it to work itself out. For example, don’t feel like you have to “fix” the fact that you are impatient, or that you are jealous of someone else, or that someone just annoys the crap out of you. Just be an observer of your mind. Try to think about what elements exist inside of you in some form that are being reflected back to you.

In terms of changes in my physical practice, I am finding myself sneaking yoga in throughout my day more and more. I am working on a sequencing assignment for homework, so my home practice is strengthening too, as I have to spend a lot more time practicing what I am going to teach.

I have also been really blessed with an amazing group of people in my teacher training. Even though the sessions take up most of my weekends, I find myself leaving each Saturday and Sunday feeling lighter and brighter than before.

And a little achy, too. But in the most satisfying way!

♥/☼
Amanda

