Skip to content

Helm of the Heart

We are the ones we've been waiting for

I finally got to spend some quality time practicing yoga at home today. Monday and Tuesday were 12+ hour days for me, going from teaching to my newly acquired second job.

A lot of things are happening right now (feels like pandamonium), and I’ve been pretty good about not stressing out due to a lack of funds. That is, until I couldn’t buy groceries or put gas in my car. That’s when I started to get a little perturbed.

Life has a magical way of working itself out, and thankfully I managed to get the necessities and calm down. I am very blessed to have generous friends and family that are always willing to help me when I need it.

Not having an abundance of money lately hasn’t been bothering me. I say this as a person with a home and a pretty comfortable life, so I know that it might sound kind of silly. I’ve always been privileged with a family that provides for me. It’s funny that when I was a child, I thought that I was so unfortunate because I didn’t get as many clothes as my friends or get paid for my good grades. When you are surrounded by wealth, your perspective changes. I don’t think I was ever a spoiled brat (I’m sure I had my moments) and I was raised to be appreciative and generous with material items. Yet still, I was unaware of the serious lack that is experienced by the majority of people on this planet.

Recently, my perspective on money has changed drastically. It occurred to me that the reason I haven’t had an abundance of “play money” is because I need to be cherishing, valuing and developing parts of myself that require little to no money. Buying a bunch of crap or spending money frivolously is not what I am supposed to be doing with my life at this stage. I need to be outside in nature, educating myself, and spending time with the people I love.

Of course, I am still a girl who loves her aesthetics, and I need my unlimited yoga membership! As much as I try to shy away from material pursuits, I can’t help but want, want, want.

But I’m working on just being.

Furthermore, I think that our financial system/fiat money is a complete joke. Okay… a terrible, destructive and murderous joke.

“The work, to be published in PLoS One, revealed a core of 1318 companies with interlocking ownerships. Each of the 1318 had ties to two or more other companies, and on average they were connected to 20. What’s more, although they represented 20 per cent of global operating revenues, the 1318 appeared to collectively own through their shares the majority of the world’s large blue chip and manufacturing firms – the “real” economy – representing a further 60 per cent of global revenues.

When the team further untangled the web of ownership, it found much of it tracked back to a “super-entity” of 147 even more tightly knit companies – all of their ownership was held by other members of the super-entity – that controlled 40 per cent of the total wealth in the network. “In effect, less than 1 per cent of the companies were able to control 40 per cent of the entire network,” says Glattfelder. Most were financial institutions. The top 20 included Barclays Bank, JPMorgan Chase & Co, and The Goldman Sachs Group.”

Full article: http://www.newscientist.com/article/mg21228354.500-revealed–the-capitalist-network-that-runs-the-world.html

I want so badly not to buy into a corrupt system that functions only to support a cabal of greedy individuals that are oppressing people and suppressing technology. We deserve technology that could improve our quality of life and decrease our dependence on fossil fuels. Alternative methods of healing that work preventively, without profiting from diseases. A media that actually reports the news.

To illustrate the absurdity of the mainstream media, I give you this clip from Conan O’Brien. It’s hilarious, until you realize the implications of what it really means.

It’s easy to feel powerless, to continue functioning in a dull haze of consumerism and fear, but by educating ourselves we regain some of our power.

Oh, and the panda picture… I don’t know, it just felt right.

♥/☼

Amanda

